Are You Lying To Me?

They used to say to me,
‘For the smartest girl in our year
You really are the dumbest bitch of them all.’
They would say I’m too easy
But not in that way.
They knew they could lie to me
And I wouldn’t be able to see it
Because a brick wall laid between my shinning eyes
And their second face.

A bank where the door was left open.

I believed their pleas of innocence
And stood up for them like an advocate.
Teachers would look at me.
I know now it was disbelief at my ignorance.
A face which would have advised me that
Friends don’t make you face the firing line for them.
I couldn’t hear them when they baaed
Behind my back.
A naïve lamb.
It would be their entertainment
If I was slaughtered.  
I haven’t heard from most of them in years.

Do they know I still curl up
With my back against the wall,
Crying,
Because I will always be here?

I will never know what lies behind that wall.

Published by Green Glasses Creative

Neurodiverse writer writing about how they see the world. See the world as green.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started