Breathing Memories

Now you’re gone,
People keep on telling me
There are many more fish in the sea!
You deserve a man who treats you right!
He is sat out there somewhere,
Waiting for you,
Go find him! Have fun!

I appreciate the thought but
No thank you.

For now,
I want to sit on the bench
Outside the train station
Where I first held you
And sit with some of the
Most beautiful memories
I will hold in my life.
I want to walk through the town
And remember how pretty the fairy lights were
As they glistened in your eyes
While we walked to dinner.
I want to listen to the silence
That only comes when you
Run your hands down my back
And kiss my neck in bed.
I want to remember
When I look in the mirror
How you were the
First man ever to say
I have pretty eyes.

Yes, some of that time
Will be sifting through the evidence to
Try and find the answer to the cold case of
What went wrong.
It will take me a while to give up
Looking for the
Non-existent body.

But, mostly,
I want to enjoy the memories
Before they fade
Like an elder
Enjoying the calming golden glow
As the sun slowly sets.

A pause. A hiatus. A breath.
The only thing that could mark
Something that was beyond words.

Published by Green Glasses Creative

Neurodiverse writer writing about how they see the world. See the world as green.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started